Hey everyone!!!! My name is Maria Alexandra Fuentes Castro Reves; I know I have a long name. I am a third year student of Early Childhood Education at Ryerson University. I am really happy to have the opportunity to go to New Orleans and help rebuild the community that was lost as a result of Hurricane Katrina.

Alexandra

I would like to inform you a little about me and my interests. Some of my interests include dancing. I love dancing. I have been dancing since I was in elementary school. My favourite dances are Latin and belly dancing. I also love playing sports such as tennis and ice skating. I love animals; I have a puppy named Apollo whom I love dearly. I truly enjoy working with children. I have been volunteering and working with children since High School. The most rewarding experience for me was working with children that have been diagnosed with autism. It was a great experience and I loved it. I enjoy making fun activities for children, the smile on their faces are priceless especially when they are having fun. Hopefully when I go to New Orleans I get the chance to work with children or help in a school or child care. I am not sure if we will help rebuild schools but that would be something I would be very interested in. I think education and a place for children to do activities, learn and have fun is really important for their social and emotional development.

I have always wanted to help people, especially children. I once had an opportunity like this when I used to go to high school in Peru. We would spend a day per week, in an Orphanage, planning activities, cooking for the children and I remember that it was a great experience. I think going to New Orleans is going to be a great experience as well and I can’t wait to be there. I am really excited about this trip and I think that if we get the chance to change or make a difference in someone’s life, we should do it.

Thanks Tanya and Pascal for giving me the opportunity to participate in this trip.

