Hello World, its Judy here. I am a Nutrition and Food major at Ryerson University. However, growing up I have always been fascinated by houses; whether if it was looking at floor plans, or watching house related shows on tv, or actually house hunting, or looking into becoming a realtor, I have always loved houses! At one point, I was going to transfer into an architecture program, but due to my lack of artistic abilities… I had to rethink my change of plans. If you ask any of my friends, they know that I have this desire to one day build a house. So when this opportunity came up, I was immediately on board. I have always wanted to get involved with an organization like Habitat for Humanity, but I have never got around to it because of my lack of time. And so going to New Orleans was the perfect way for me to get a chance to help build a house!

On this trip I hope to learn about New Orleans, the people and the culture. Gain skills which I never had prior to this trip, and hopefully use that in the future to build my own house. I hope to build bonds and lasting friendships with all the others going on this trip and create one-in-a-life-time memories which will never be forgotten. At the same time, I am looking forward to giving back to a city that is in need and showing that there is still hope in humanity given all the difficulties and obstacles these individuals have had to face. Together we can rebuild New Orleans and continue to bring families back home.

On a side note, BIG THANKS to everyone who has made this trip possible (Tanya, Pascal, Ryerson, etc.) and to everyone who continues to support us along the way. Without you, this wouldn’t be possible!

