Hey! My name is Sarah and I’m currently in my fourth year at York majoring in Environmental Studies, with a focus on environmental politics. From a very young age my mother instilled in me the value of preserving our environment, which probably subconsciously fed my interest for saving the environment and led me to this program. After my first year at York, and hearing about the extent of the injustice throughout the world I found myself more than interested in global issues, and where exactly I fit into that equation.

I have been lucky enough to travel to Venezuela, El Salvador and Modesto, California volunteering with Global Youth Network, working with children and families, local organizations, and experiencing the culture first hand. These experiences have allowed me to learn more about global issues and grow as person while helping others.

I live at home with my parents, my brother, my 2 year old nephew (who is definitely the best person I know), and my greyhound Bailey. I love just playing and being ridiculous with my nephew, hanging out with friends, dancing, reading, travelling, and I must admit shopping does make me pretty happy at times. I absolutely love animals and I have had quite a few pets in my life. I played baseball for twelve years, and still like to get together in the summer to play a friendly game! I currently work at a pharmacy, where I have been for 8 years as a Pharmacy Technician, and I can actually say I do love my job. I like to take risks, try new things and can be pretty adventurous, but I am terrified of bridges- I’m trying to work on that.

I couldn’t be more excited for this opportunity to travel to New Orleans, lend a helping hand and experience the culture and southern hospitality we here so much about! Programs like this give you the chance to make a difference in someone’s life, and I’m extremely proud to be a part of it. I would just like to send a HUGE thank you to everyone who has been so supportive of me, and especially Tanya and Pascal for creating such an amazing opportunity!
I CAN’T WAIT!

