Hey whats up guys my name is Joanie Hazel and I am a 3rd year Social Work student at Ryerson University and am hoping to get my masters (BSW) directly after at UofT. As a future career I would like to work with women and families who have faced domestic violence. I have worked with children and youth for over six years in the downtown Toronto area for the City of Toronto Parks and recreation as a lifeguard/ swim instructor/ recreation program facilitator. I have also worked at residential camps for young women who live in economically disadvantaged communities and who have faced abuse and neglect within their lives. I have lived in downtown Toronto my whole life and cannot imagine living anywhere else. I love traveling and have only visited Jamaica, Ireland and a few states. I have always wanted to go to the Southern parts of the United States after reading and watching movies about the systemic oppression and racism African American people faced historically and even today in an indirect sense. I am extremely excited about the trip and can’t wait to help build what was taken away by Katrina, see you all soon!

