My name is Chivon Cecille Musgrave, I was born and raised in Hamilton, Ontario also known as Steel City.  I grew up in a family of seven which means I had no choice but to get along with people. My parents come from the native land of Dominica where I hope to retire to someday, sit in the sun and eat some good Caribbean food. As you can see, I don’t take life too seriously and I love to laugh. On a serious note, I graduated from Mohawk College as a Social Service Worker and I am currently attending Ryerson University working towards my Social Work Degree. Presently, I am employed with the Hamilton Wentworth District School Board as educational assistant teaching children that have special needs.  Working with children is my passion because it makes me happy to know that I may have a positive influence on their lives.  Not only do I like children but I also have a deep LOVE for humanity. I am a strong believer that everything in life is about peace and love and I try my hardest everyday to reflect that in my character. This is precisely the reason that I have decided to be a part of this amazing experience to go to New Orleans. I feel that this experience will be the beginning of my journey of turning my dreams into reality.

Natural Disaster in which we have no control

Whipping out the levees, yet never our soul

They say no hope, that’s false and lies

Our hope is inside for it never dies

Evacuated and swiped us right out of town

You can take us out but never tear us down

Taking us off our feet left to swim and crawl

Countless times left to trip and fall

Crushed inside but yet still stand tall

Wiping out our homes

Left to live in domes

Hurricane Katrina as fierce as you are you can take our homes but you can’t take our souls

Taken away from our place of rest

Displacing the animals from there nest

Yet never able to put our faith to the test

They call you Katrina

Then call in Fema

Make the crisis even sadder

Stench exuding from human matter

You can take our bodies, our kids, our lives but you can’t stop where we go there after.

Natural disaster in which we have no control

Whipping out the levees, yet never our soul

They say no hope, that’s false and lies

Our hope is inside for it never dies

Natural Disaster in which we have no control

Didn’t you know New Orleans is the HOME OF SOUL?

