Hi everyone! My name is Rebecca Hiltz. I am a 4th year Early Childhood Education student at Ryerson University. I started my post secondary education at George Brown College and have continued to Ryerson.


I have had the opportunity to travel to China and Scotland throughout my studies to work with children. These experiences were amazing and parked my interest in travel! I have wanted to do humanitarian work and I am excited to be going to New Orleans. Recently learning more about the devastation of Katrina still being suffered more than four years later, I am proud to be able to help families rebuild their homes! I wish I could do more to help families who have been suffering and I would love to continue to be involved in outreach and humanitarian programs like this one. Grateful of this opportunity, I’m ready to embrace a new culture and I’m excited to meet and build relationships with our group, other volunteers and of course the people of New Orleans.

