Hello!

First and foremost I’d like to thank everyone who came out to our bake sales!! Whether you bought one item or many or simply just made a donation, THANK YOU!!! It would not have been a success without y’all.

So the semester is slowly winding down and there’s less than a month before we fly out to New Orleans. I’m so excited!!! I just finished the three classroom sessions and I’ve learned a lot. More than I knew coming into this class. I now realize that this experience is so much more than just building a house. Though that is important and exciting, this experience is also about leaning about the environmental impact of Katrina, how it could have been prevented and all the social issues currently existing that have affected the rebuilding of New Orleans. From watching films such as When the Levees Broke and Trouble the Water to reading articles about Hurricane Katrina my eyes have definitely opened up to see a bigger picture. As much as I’d like to say that I’m prepared for what’s to come… I’m really not because I know that going there and seeing everything first hand is going to be so different from watching it through a film. I don’t know what’s to come… but whatever it is, I’m ready for it!

-Judy

