A week from today I am not going to be able to sleep.

I’m most likely going to stay up all the way into Friday morning just because I’m overly excited for New Orleans!! I can’t believe how fast time flies by. In my organizer … I’ve definitely over emphasized the fact that I’m going away. If I miss my flight it’d just be IMPOSSIBLE!

Have I started packing? Heck no! .. Have you?! I threw a few items into my suitcase and realized “Uh oh. I don’t think this is big enough..” I’m bringing rainboots! I don’t care how tacky they may seem there is no way I’m going to have wet feet if it rains or if we go out to the wetlands. I actually think that I’m over prepared! My closest friends have assisted me in figuring out just what I want to bring.

What have I packed? (thus far..)
work clothes (capris length track pants, t-shirts, shorts)
toiletries (toothpaste, body wash, toothbrush, deodorant etc.)
insulation clothes (long pair of trackpants and a long shirt)
– “going out clothes” aka normal clothes

(I know I’ve got a long way to go)

And I still haven’t even figured out what shoes “I would mind ruining” — running shoes are not a part of my closet inventory… I’m more of a books and ballet flats person!

My friend Nancy (as pictured on the left above) attended one of our New Orleans meetings and wants me to pack her in a suitcase – Hahaa

I’m SO HAPPY that we were able to fundraise so much money for this trip! Otherwise I’m sure that many of us would have had to dig deep into our pockets. All of those nights and early mornings of baking cupcakes finally paid off! Much appreciation goes out to everyone who got involved in the bake sale activities and was able to supervise it – as well as a great thanks to everyone else who helped fundraise money in a variety of methods (the pub night, raffle tickets, off-campus fundraising)

Now that all of my fees are paid I’m too excited to know that YES THIS IS HAPPENING! I AM GOING AWAY!

Everyone keeps asking, “Hey didn’t you say you were going away at the end of this month? Where are you going? Why? Well when are you coming back? Tell me more!” And I have not gotten tired of explaining so just imagine what it’s going to be like when we come back!! This trip is going to be forever talked about. This week I met another one of the individuals who attended last year and she was SO enthusiastic about what to do and what not to do. Where to go and where to stay far away from. She even told stories about some of the houses that had HUGE cockroaches and said its least likely that we will be staying there ever again.

Yikes! Bug Repellant anyone? 😉 Hahaa

