I just literally walked through my front door after finishing my last exam. I am so excited to be done! And now, I finally have a chance to sit back and let it hit me: the realization that I’m heading out to NOLA tomorrow morning. Up until this point I didn’t really have the time to even think about it.

Despite not having much time to think about the flight departure, and the whole experience thereafter, I’ve spent the last couple of nights packing (when I really should have been studying). I felt so spoiled being able to fit everything I wanted into my suitcase. Last time I went travelling for over a week was my trip to Europe, which lasted two months, and I brought five shirts with me. The list of belongings I could bring with me was very limited. This packing experience feels so luxurious in comparison. Last night when I realized I could actually pack more than I had intended, I started to get really excited; I’ve been excited about the trip all along, but this was a more tangible feeling – I guess you could call it butterflies in the stomach, or something along those lines. And now I find that I’m getting excited over the little things – like the length of my packing list…like the fact that most of what I packed is shorts and tank tops, that the weather is going to be so warm.

And my excitement stemmed from there. And now, there is so much going through my head. I’m excited for the landing in New Orleans, settling at Camp Hope, touring New Orleans, going to the Jazz Festival, the swamp tour….so many things! I’m also really excited to get started on working on houses; I’ve never done anything like that before, so I don’t even know what to expect or how to imagine it will be, but I’m ready to put in a lot of effort and have a good time while doing it. I’m excited for attending the home-comings of families who lost their houses in the hurricane. Overall, I think I’m just excited to be part of something like this, that this CINT course and the St. Bernard Project make possible for me to get involved in.

Departure’s tomorrow morning at 6am. My mom’s driving me to Buffalo tonight, and I’m taking a very early shuttle bus from our motel to the airport. I can’t wait for it all to get started!

Sarah B

