My name is Shantae Johns, I am a third year Nursing student here at Ryerson. I have been involved with many initiatives on campus with a focus on either my program or racism within the context of the university and its manifestations. I have also been involved with projects within marginalized communities with an aim of debunking many of the various stereotypes and myths that surround the communities with Regent Park being the one mostly targeted because of its proximity to campus. I am the president of the United Black Students at Ryerson (UBSR) for the upcoming year academic year and I am very proud and excited to start implanting some new initiatives to serve the black students on campus. I am really excited and feel very privileged to be a part of this group going to New Orleans especially with my late acceptanceJ. I have had a huge appetite for success as well as social justice and equity and my knowledge around these concepts have grown and developed over the past year. I have been able to critically analyse many of the various issues within our society through an anti- oppressive lens. I currently work with the Anti- Racism community service group on campus where we strive to create an anti- racist and welcoming space for all students on campus. I am from a very small family of four and I live by myself in the big city which can be fun at times but also gets frustrating at times. I am very excited about this trip, especially because of what we will be doing there and how beneficial it will be to the residents of New Orleans as well as myself. I am also interested in learning more about the culture there because of the strong influence which slavery has had and also how it impacts their present day culture.

