So we’ve been here for a week and a half. In the first week alone we’ve done so many things from demolishing a school to installing insulation to volunteering at a homeless shelter to painting. This week the class was split into groups of 3’s and we each have our own projects. It feels good that we’re sticking to one project for the whole week because you get to gain an attachment to something. So today was day 3 of working at the Pacassio house (don’t know if I spelt it right). So far what we’ve done was sand and mud the walls to smooth out the uneven-ness of the wall that sanding can’t fix. This feels like an extremely long process that doesn’t display many results. It feels like we’re constantly sanding and mudding, yet we’re getting absolutely no where. Slowly, but surely, I know we’re going to get somewhere. Many times during the day I feel so frustrated while sanding because the mudding was horribly done, but what keeps me going throughout the day is knowing that this closet or room that I’m sanding will be a little girl’s bedroom or a family’s garage. Whatever it is, that seems to keep me motivated and going throughout the day.

Today I woke up and I was just exhausted, I had no more motivation or desire to keep on going. But around lunch time we went to our first welcome home party!! šŸ™‚ This totally motivated me because I needed that extra push to know that what I’m struggling to do on the house is going to get somewhere. To know that all the hard work I’m putting into this house is actually going to bring some good results. Like seeing the rainbow at the end of the storm. I just needed some reassurance after doing the same thing for 4 days now! We finally started prepping for texturizing today which was basically done by washing the walls. I’m really excited to do that tomorrow to finally move onto another step and seeing a greater accomplishment!

Tomorrow will be the last day of the trip… how sad :(. I’m seriously going to miss everyone and New Orleans, but definitely not Camp Hope. It’s been a really great trip, half of me wants to go back, but half of me wants to stay. Either way my plane ticket is still saying that I’m leaving saturday morning at 6am.. so home here I come! šŸ™‚

-judy aka small asian.

