Oh my goodness. This has been the fastest two weeks I have had in a long time. We have done and seen so much and yet not enough time to do every thing. This past week I have had the opportunity to work on a house that has been gutted. The first process is called mold remediation. Within this house we had to wire brush every single support beam from the floor to the attic to activate the mold. Working in 88F humid weather in a house wearing a respirator, glasses and gloves is very hot. Once we activate the mold with had to over the whole house again with a product called shock wave to kill the mold. This process took about a day to complete. So by Thursday we started to paint every single piece of wood with Killz (a latex paint which seals in the moisture) to prime the house to get ready for fumigating. This three-step process takes about a week and we are right on schedule. Without this first process the home owner would not be able to come home because excessive exposure to mold is deadly.

On a more positive note we were able to take part in a home-coming of a single women back to her home. This was a very emotional and happy experience because many volunteers have given their time and energy to give this woman a chance to restart her life. The emotions this woman felt is undescribable because she was so over joyed to finally, after 5 years, to come home. Her house was gorgeous and although I did not personally work on her house I know one day the owners of the house that I have been working on will get their chance to come home. This feeling is so joyous that I could be a part of this process for the wonderful homeowner.

The time has now come and start packing my bags to head home to  my wonderful family who I have missed dearly. To my wonderful husband, thank you for giving me the chance to go and understanding this need. To my wonderful daughters, I know you don’t understand why I did this but one day you will and I will explain everything. To my parents and in-laws a huge thank you to all of you for helping me succeed and watching the girls. No words can express the gratitude I feel. Finally to Tanya and Pascal a huge thank you for giving me this chance to expand my knowledge and meet all of these wonderful new friends. The both of you have done so much to make this experience a success and without you none of this would have been possible. Thanks for everything you both have done I really appreciate it.

Stacey a.k.a Mama

