Sad, glad, happy, nervous, excited and anxious are some of the emotions that I am experiencing prior to leaving for my journey to New Orleans. I am extremely excited to go on this trip because I feel that some of my childhood dreams are coming to life. When I was a child, I can remember watching the World Vision commercials and seeing the children in poverty. I felt devastated seeing the flies squirming around their heads and seeing the children starving to death. This vivid memory that I had as a child has left an imprint in my mind, constantly reminding me that one of my purposes in life is to help others.  At this point in my life, I feel that this trip to New Orleans is going to give me the opportunity to pursue some of my goals. This trip will also give me a glimpse of what it will be like to help people on a voluntary basis. Although I am very excited, I must admit that I am a little anxious because I am a big baby and I have never been away from my family and friends for two weeks. It will be interesting to see how I will handle living with sixteen women and one man that I barely know even though it is not too far off from growing up in a crazy household with five women and my Dad. Aha! This experience will definitely give me the opportunity to learn more about myself and may also challenge my character considering that there are going to be a lot of different personalities. It will be an eye opener to see how the group dynamics function. I am also very curious to see how I will adapt to being in a new environment and out of my regular day to day functions. With regards to the fundraising portion of the trip, I was astonished to see how giving people were and how willing they were to help others. I was especially touched by a group of students that raised money on my behalf for this trip and they didn’t even know me.  After the students surprised me with the donations, I visited their school and thanked them. I was basically in tears because it was nice to see that students are interested in doing good. So far, I have seen a lot of positive outcomes coming from this experience and I know that there are going to be so many more. I’ve been so excited that I’ve been counting down the days.  I can’t wait to go on this journey and I am looking forward to see what lies ahead of me. New Orleans, Woo Hoo team two!

