Hello Everyone,

It’s so hard to believe that today is my final day in New Orleans, LA.  I’ve mentioned this before and I’ll mention again: after months upon months of waiting, it was a shock when the time finally arrived to head south to the Big Easy.  Now, this experience, that I had waited so long for, is now almost over.  Only 15 hours and 15 minutes left for me, before I will be flying away from NOLA.  It’s bittersweet.  I”m so sad to be leaving, but at the same time, I am looking forward to getting back home to Canada.  Even though I will not be here in person, NOLA certainly has captured a little piece of my heart.

This was truly an experience of a lifetime.  I never in a million years would have guessed that I would have the opportunity to help rebuild the Hurricane Katrina destruction.  Never.  But somehow, as luck would have it, I would be introduced to this opportunity and take advantage of it, living this experience to the fullest of my ability.  I would not change a single thing about this trip.  It was amazing, beginning to end.

I’d like to take this time to thank my instructors, Tanya Gulliver and Pascal Murphy, for making this dream possible.  Words can’t express how appreciative I am that you two made this all possible.  THANK YOU!!  THANK YOU!!  THANK YOU!!

– Alison

