It is day fifteen and it is time to go. I am going to miss this trip and the great experience it had provided for me. I had the chance do to things I have wanted to do my whole life that I have gotten to do in New Orleans, such as hold a alligator and experience going on an airplane. Its sad to go but I miss my friends and family. As I recount the most memorable moments of this trip, here what comes to mind:

–         A warm and fun filled day in Biloxi, Mississippi. I finally got to see a dolphins plus go swimming in the Gulf of Mexico.

–    The Swomp Tour had to be one of my highlights

–         Meeting Tanya Harris technically for the second time, (hence the argument in the dinner was the first time I met her).As a guest speaker she was highly articulate and extremely funny

–         Favorite group outing had to be the Cheesecake Bistro- the waitress rapped for the group so that made my day.

–         Myself having loads of fun on the various sites with the Americopes and John, the construction manager

I can’t believe this trip has come to an end. As I write this final blog, I am thinking about those who we have touched with our presence and volunteer work. I didn’t\ not think this trip would leave a lasting sensenation when it was time to go home, but it as. It was hard to adjust on the first day. I didn’t know what I got myself into or how to pace myself with labor, the heat or staying hydrated. But when it’s all said in done, if I had to do this again and stay at Camp Hope, I would do it all over again. New Orleans is a great city that deserves a fighting chance to recover from Hurricane Katrina.  I am extremely thankful for the volunteer dinner. It as extremely nice to see the people of New Orleans give thanks to all the volunteers who came to their city to help in the rebuilding efforts. I was expecting a thank you, not a full course dinner. Lastly, I want to say thank you. To everyone from Tanya and Pascal, to Mark and his kitchen staff, St. Benarnds project, the

AmeriCorps and to all who made this trip to New Orleans a huge success.

Challenge yourself to be the best you can be. I know I have. Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.” So if the time ever comes, take this opportunity to come to New Orleans, grab it and embrace it.

Faith is taking the first step, even when you don’t see the whole staircase.
Martin Luther King

After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.
Nelson Mandela

Love always,

“Biola”

