Further to my post about the Coast Guard imposed 65ft rule I learned late last night that they had lifted their ban for media coverage in and around boom.  The press release cited retired Coast Guard Admiral Thad Allen (the go-to guy for the response) as saying “I have put out a direction that the press are to have clear, unfettered access to this event, with two exceptions: if there is a safety or security concern. This boom is critical to the defense of the marshes and the beaches.”

I applied this morning for my media credentials and was approved in less than 10 minutes. My pass outlines a list of regulations for myself, and any vessel operator to follow. It says in part “The US Coast Guard and Joint Information Center have approved your Media Vessel Credential. You are authorized to travel within the 20m boom safety zone for media activities. Please be aware that the area is an operational area and there may be many boats engaged in oil spill
recovery activities. This e-mail is the official media credential. There is no need to apply again as this credential is valid for the duration of the response.”

Next step is to call to see if I can get a spot on one of the overnight trips to the well site. If I get that, I also think I need to buy a new camera. And maybe a respirator 🙂

