Hey Y’all!

My name is Noah Iannetta and I’m a second year Geographic Analysis student at Ryerson. I reside in Barrie, but I live in downtown Toronto during the school year, which I like a lot! I was originally born in Scarborough, and I’ve lived in Mississauga and Newmarket, so I’ve definitely moved around quite a bit.

Before coming to Ryerson, I went to Georgian College where I studied Travel & Tourism. I also did a co-op work internship for college out in Victoria, British Columbia, working as a tour guide. It was the best job I ever had, and I definitely got a life experience out of it. Now that I’m studying geography, my game plan is to graduate university and begin a successful career in my field. I don’t have my eye set on a certain career yet, but I’m working on it!

I decided to apply for the NOLA field experience for a couple of reasons. I always wanted to go to New Orleans, mostly cause I wanted to go to Mardi Gras haha. Yet, after hearing about the opportunity to go to New Orleans in my homelessness in Canadian society class, it got me thinking about all those people still recovering from the affects of Hurricane Katrina. Watching videos in class about Hurricane Katrina definitely helped me make my decision to apply, as I definitely want to help make a difference to people lives and bring smiles to their faces.

Outside of school, I got a lot of interests. I’m a big sports fanatic, I love to watch hockey and basketball (die hard Toronto Raptors fan), and enjoy doing outdoor sports such as basketball, biking, and swimming to name a few. Music is another big interest of mine, and my favourite genres are rock & roll and hip-hop. I also play guitar, and also write a lot of songs as well as freestyle raps in my spare time. Having a creative side, I also like art as well. I’m not the best at drawing, but I like to do graphic design on photoshop sometimes.

Anyway, I’m definitely excited for this experience, and I’m looking forward to meeting everybody and getting this course started!

