Heeeeeeeeeey! My name is Keisha McIntosh. I am a 20 year old 3rd year Social Work student at Ryerson.

Hmm where to start…  Well I like holding hands and long walks on the beach….lol..no I’m kidding. I’ve always had an interest in helping others. I’ve done volunteer work with Pathways in Regent Park where I was a mentor for the youth who participated in the program, and right now I  volunteer at Seven Oakes Home For the Aged, it’s a retirement home just up the street from my house.  I’m also currently doing my third year field placement at Scarborough Housing Help Centre in the Streets to Homes department. Basically I work with people who were previously homeless for a period of time, and have now been housed, a part of my job there is to make sure they sustain their housing (i.e. doing rent checks, advocating on their behalf) and don’t end up back on the streets, as well as linking them with resources in the community they may need.

Well that’s just a little bit about me, feel free to add me on FB at Keisha Mack…however I deactivated my account temporarily to focus on exams, but it’ll be up and running again soon 🙂

(Ps. Just hit me with a little message saying you’re from the course).

Why am I taking this course?

Well I first heard about it from one of my classmates last school year. But by the time I heard about it, it was too late…I know devastating right? I wasn’t sure if it was a one time thing or if it was going to be every year, and thank goodness it is cause now I have the opportunity to take part. I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about the New Orleans trip..everyone kept saying how the experience was just sooo surreal. I’m so excited to have the chance to be a part of a project like this. Like I mentioned earlier in my blog I’ve always taken pride in being an active member of my community, but have never done anything on an international level such as this.

What I hope to gain from this experience is not just the chance to say “Yea I went to New Orleans and helped rebuild houses”, but that WE as a  team were part of something AMAZING. We helped to make a real difference in people’s lives, and in doing so I grew more as a person, and as a future social worker.

