Hello Everyone!

My name is Caitlin Villeneuve and I am a 4th year student at King’s University
College in London. I am with the second group in May and I couldn’t be more
excited! This will be my last undergrad course Ever!! I thought it was a specifically
rad way to end my undergraduate career. I am taking Social Justice and Peace
Studies and Political Science. I have a strong passion and empathy for hearing
and experiencing the plight of those whom have experienced oppression and
discrimination. Being a privileged middle-class white woman, all I can do is listen
and use my voice to represent their struggle and fight for social justice, and I
welcome opportunities to do that.

I sent an application in without really knowing what this trip is all about! I
saw an opportunity to go to New Orleans in May and I jumped on it! I have a serious
love for traveling and diving in to new experiences, and due to school and all that
jazz, the traveling has been pushed aside – so again, really looking forward to this
trip and to meeting everyone! I am based out of London with two other participants
from the second leg of the trip, but I’m excited to get to know more about all of you
in February!
My interest for this trip lies in post-disaster community development – not
only the physical construction of buildings and houses, but how the community
unites and moves forward together – the healing – both, emotionally and physically.
I am constantly inspired by the resilience of united human spirit in the face of
this unjust system, selectively beneficial to keep the rich richer and make the
poor poorer. I will never be able to say, “I know how you feel” and truly know
from pragmatic knowledge. However, I can say I’ve seen it, I’ve witnessed it, and
then I can share it. This is what this trip is about for me: bearing witness to a
heartbreaking, avoidable disaster and sharing in the fervor to rebuild, reconnect,
and rejuvenate New Orleans’ spirit, community, and heart.

See you all in February!!

Caitlin

