Hi everyone!

My name is Karen Rezk and I am currently in my 3rd year at Ryerson in the Nursing program. I love to travel and learn about various cultures and practices. So far I’ve traveled to France, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Greece, Turkey, England, Egypt, and parts of Southern Africa. But my heart is really in Africa and I hope to one day live there running a mobile health clinic in villages affected by war and poverty that do not have access to any means of health care. So far, I’ve been to Kenya, Zambia, and Congo working on different volunteer projects with various organizations. The reason I decided to take part in this course is because I often find myself so immersed in issues happening in Africa, that I forget very similar issues are affecting folks out here in the west–in 1st world countries. I have finally decided to take a stance to put an end to my ignorance when it comes to issues of inequality in my own backyard. I can’t wait to share this experience with all of you!

On another note, other interests I have include singing, camping, fire pits under the stars with some guitar playing, long walks on the beach, and anything that has to do with nature and the outdoors!

Looking forward to this experience!

Karen

