Hi everyone,

This too is my first blog and it will take some getting used to. I’m very excited and looking forward to all our work and adventures for New Orleans. I’ve recently graduated from Ryerson University from the Politics & Governance program and am now continuing my education there completing a certificate in Food Security. My interests going forward and hopefully for Masters are in international development, connecting policy issues with food issues and human security. I have a big interest in urban agriculture, so maybe we can get our fingers in the ground there, and hopefully start a food garden for them. We take it for granted here, but having enough food to eat is really critical for one, to have a decent living. I’m also excited about putting up a dry wall and some handiwork, as it will be a first.

I’m taking this course because I want to better understand disaster management and the stories of what happened after hurricane Katrina. I’ve heard from many people that New Orleans is a place completely rich is history and fun culture that have really been affected and I want to be able to contribute to its restoration. I hope that it will give me skills to be able to participate in more international development issues. I hope to learn more about how the ecological environment has been affected and how it is being improved.

A little about me, I love to swim, and go camping. My background is Italian I love to cook, bake, and plant gardens.  I’ve done a fair bit of travelling over the years and my next adventure is to try to go see Ireland and Scotland. It sounds like a great bunch of people are going, and I;m really looking forward to this trip.

Diana

