Like many of you, I am new to blogging, so we shall have to see how this goes.

To begin, I was born and raised in rural Alberta, but have called Toronto my home now for the past 10 years.  I am a second year social work student at Ryerson University. Prior to beginning at Ryerson I completed a Creative Photography diploma program at Humber College and worked in editorial photography for 7 years. My decision to change career paths and enter the social work program at Ryerson can be largely attributed to the inspiration I gained working as a volunteer at the June Callwood Center in downtown Toronto. June’s is a drop in center for pregnant teens and young mothers, and I have been lucky enough to have volunteered there for many years under the guidance of some very talented and inspiring social workers. The experience I gained at June’s center, as well as in international volunteer roles in Romania and Nicaragua, led me to understand the importance of community action on both a local and international level. I feel passionately about our duty as human beings to care for one another whether it be our neighbors that are in need, or people across the globe. I feel honored to be able to attend the New Orleans course as I think it will be an amazing experience for all of us, and I hope that we can make a positive difference in the lives of those people affected by the devastation of  Hurricane Katrina and the BP oil spill.

My passions (in no particular order) include: cooking, hiking, cycling, travel, dodge ball, soft ball, photography, wilderness camping, whitewater canoeing, rodeo, country music (you can’t take the Alberta out of a girl!), reading, drinking tea, swimming, and eating. I look forward to sampling the cuisine in New Orleans!

