Salutations my friends

My name is Jordan Thomas Ruediger and I am in my third year majoring in social justice and peace studies (SJPS) at King’s/UWO. Before moving to London 3 years ago I lived and grew up in the small town of Stratford. To be honest I dont know where I want to be or what I want to be doing once my time at university comes to an end, but I at least know I’m on the right track with SJPS.

When my nose isn’t found in school books I like to spend my time playing guitar, writing the odd song here and there, skateboarding in the summer, and spending as much time as possible escaping to northern Ontario for camping, fishing, snowshoeing etc…. I suppose I could be described as one of those “outdoorsy” folk.

As far as this New Orleans experience goes, I cannot put into words how excited I am to meet and work with all of you. The overwhelming devastation that this community has suffered is absolutely heart breaking. On the other hand, the feeling I get from seeing our group here dedicated to a wonderful cause like this is absolutely heart warming. I’m looking forward to visiting a new place, meeting new people, learning as much as possible, and most importantly getting involved with much-needed community development, getting my hands dirty and making a difference.

On that note I hope you enjoyed my brief blog and I’ll be seeing you all soon.

Peace

-J. Ruediger

