Hey Guys,

My name is Kristin and I am a second year Social work student at Ryerson. I am in the first session. Things you should know about me; I don’t know anything about blogs. I don’t eat meat because I am a fan of animals and I don’t think I need to eat them to maintain a healthy balanced diet…don’t worry, I don’t judge you meat eaters. I enjoy getting tattoos and I have lots. I have a horse and I am obsessed with him and any horse related activities. I live-in/run a group home for kids and have been doing this for the last 5 years so which has not left much time for traveling. This position has been a rewarding and at times a very challenging endeavor over the years. It has given me many insights into different circumstances and obstacles that can affect people’s lives and their chances to build prosperous futures for themselves and their families. I have also learned a great deal about myself in the process.

I wanted to be apart of this trip because I like to help people. I have always been fascinated and saddened with what happened as a result of Katrina. New Orleans has faced many significant challenges both environmentally and economically in recent years. The tragedies that the people of New Orleans have had to work through struck a chord with me and I am looking forward to the opportunity to provide positive assistance to them wherever possible. A little help can go a long way and even a small contribution can make a lasting difference if enough of us get involved.

I am super pumped to go to New Orleans for this experience and to meet all of you who I will be traveling with and working beside while helping out. This is an opportunity that I know I will not forget.

Until we meet, take care,

Kristin

