Hi Everyone!!!

PLEASE excuse my tardiness… Tanya is very right! Complete instructions given in an email the moment you get it or it will definitely get lost in your inbox 🙂

The 411:

My name is Shakera “Dance and Dingolay” Martin and I am currently at Ryerson University completing my final year in the Occupational Health and Safety program. Despite my veteran experience on facebook, I have not blogged before; CINT 912 is already helping me to develop a new skill.

I bet many of you raised an eyebrow at the “Dance and Dingolay” component in my name. Well, my top three favourite things in no particular order is dancing, helping other people, and EATING! When you get to know me better you will see these three things surface very often in my actions or conversations.

Helping Others – I am pretty sure that I developed this passion by the teachings of my mother. We both have very similar personality traits which could possibly be attributed to our Capricorn Zodiac! Nonetheless, I take pride in being a support system to those that need it… hence my field of study! When I discovered that I had the opportunity to reduce the level of danger in the workforce and prevent life-changing injuries, such as the one my mother developed while working at her company, I began my University studies at Ryerson. I am even more excited that I will be able to complete my final degree requirement doing what I love in New Orleans! I found out about CINT 912 from several colleagues last year who have said nothing but great things about this course and how it impacted their lives. I look forward to every aspect of this trip and cannot help but highly anticipate the lessons, the people, and the overall experience that WE ALL will get to embrace.

Eating – Food will be the end of me but I am very okay with that. If I had $5 left in my bank account, there is a 97% chance that it would be spent on food! Get ready folks, I plan to do a lot of cooking in NOLA 😉

Dance/Performing – I was that child that was bopping around since I could hardly walk so of course my mother was encouraged to enroll me in dance lessons and the passion continued until adulthood. Although I currently am not training, I still dance every chance I get whether it be with Ryerson’s Urban Hip Hop Union, at a bus stop, or most frequently with ~Carnival ~ inspired events… hence my current nickname! Carnival season usually kicks off in February on the island of Trinidad and Tobago. The season is filled with a whole new list of soca music, costumes, and positive energy. My friends and I have a tradition where we assign me a nickname based on our favourite single of the season… this year it is Dance and Dingolay… LISTEN TO THE TRACK HERE I have also posted a photo of me in costume last year!

I am very excited to be working with all of you (especially those who are apart of the SECOND SESSION). I do encourage everyone to stay updated in our groups facebook page so we can get the fund raising initiatives underway. I posted details on a funding opportunity that will require some of you to help me do a presentation. Check it out ASAP 🙂

See you all February 3!

One Love

