Hey Everyone!

My name is Marina-Christina Papadimitirou and I’m in my graduating year @ Ryerson University majoring in Early Childhood Education. I have a passion for teaching and working with children. I currently work full-time as a Registered Early Childhood Educator at one of the Upper Canada Childcare Centres as Senior Preschool Teacher (in other words a Kindergarten Teacher).

I’m extremely thrilled to be given this opportunity to participate in the New Orleans Experience (Thank you Pascal and Tanya). When I first heard about NOLA, I was in Homelessness in Canadian Society last semester and learned more about hurricane Katrina and BP oil spill devastations and the fact that people down there are still affected with what happened. During this class I was thinking it would be such a great opportunity to go on this journey to New Orleans and be part of this Community Development Course and make a difference while collaborating with various interdisciplinary students and most importantly working as a team in order to achieve/do something so great.

A little about me; is I grew up in East York. I love to dance (Greek dance especially), sing, play sports (such as soccer, tennis, volleyball and badminton), skate, run, read and travel.

Last, but not least I officially finally blogged for the first time ever and I look forward to getting to know everyone and hearing their stories. I can’t wait until our classes start and of course our journey in May to New Orleans.

Cheers,

Marina

