Hey ya’ll 🙂

I know everyone is as excited as I am at this point, group 1 we’re only days away! I’ve been reading my Frommer’s 2011 New Orleans guide book every spare chance I get, which is spare since it’s exam season and all I’ve been reading are textbooks :p Once exams are done I will be able to put myself wholly into this experience, and what an experience it’s going to be!

I am most looking forward to just putting my feet down on that historic Louisiana soil and breathing in some salty Gulf air (it will be a blessing just to get away from this bipolar spring/fall/winter weather we’re having in TO!) We’re starting to plan our tours, trips and excursions to take in our free time, which is making this feel more like vacation planning. I find that I have to remind myself that this is an educational experience and we are going down there to work as well as have fun. The motivation to join this course came from learning about social and environmental injustice, and we need to keep that in the forefront of our minds as we look foreward to the heat, the music, the food and the people awaiting us in NOLA.

Group 1 had a fun, casual meet-up last Friday, to put faces to names and get to know one another a bit better. I thought it was alot of fun and I was glad to see most of us there. We’ll be less like strangers when we meet up down there now, and sleeping arrangements may be less awkward! lol Allow me to share a picture:

Good luck to everyone who still has exams to slog through (statistics for me tomorrow…gross), we’re almost there! 😀

