Wow, where do I begin time seems to be going by so quickly in about 10 days group one will be in New Orleans( YAAAHHH) I’m beginning to feel a bit nervous and scared at the same time. I feel blessed to be given this amazing opportunity to help rebuild homes and take part in other volunteer opportunities while volunteering our time in New Orleans. I believe this experience to me will be life changing and rewarding at the same time.

Everyone who I have talked to about this trip has been so supportive and encouraging. I had one family from my classroom buy and give me three books titled “Fodor’s New Orleans 2011″, ” Eyewitness Travel Top 10 New Orleans” and “Frommer’s New Orleans day by day. Can you say I have been totally glued and hooked to these books during my lunch, on the bus and just before bed this passed week.

Now a flash back to class, one of the best films I watched was Spike Lee’s documentary ” When the Levees broke” even though I didn’t see all of the documentary the sections we watched made me feel very emotional and gave me a glimpse of what was happening during the hurricane and as well as how families were affected by this. Another film which was great was ” Hurricane on the Bayou”, I remember one specific point which stuck with me which was “through this disaster- it reminded me how precious family is” I found this statement powerful and very true.

Now moving along on a happier note I  was thrilled I got to meet some more members from group one last week on Friday @ Jack Astor’s. I feel more at ease now and I believe without a doubt that we will all have a blast and a life changing experience down in NOLA! And so the countdown begin’s 10 more days…. I can’t wait for this new chapter to begin. See ya all soon!!!

Cheers,

Marina

