Hey everyone, well its Sunday night and I can’t believe that by this time next week I’ll be in New Orleans. I can’t wait to finish up the school year with my last exam tomorrow and then I have the rest of the week to get organized for the trip. I already started packing a few weeks ago because I’m so pumped to go on this trip but I’m a nerd like that, I always do this before I go away. I feel its necessary to pack at least a month ahead so that you are fully prepared and don’t forget anything. I’m also an over packer but I am going to try my hardest this trip not to be!

Even though I’m excited I’m also feeling a bit anxious and stressed about going away. I am leaving behind my foster kids and I hope everything runs smoothly while I am away from home. I have been talking about this trip with them for months now. They have been asking me lots of questions about the hurricane and what caused all these things to happen. I try to answer the questions the best I can from what I have learned from class and from my readings. It also helps them understand why I am leaving them for two weeks. I told them that when I come back I will give them a presentation complete with slide show so they can hear my stories, see what New Orleans is like and the things I did while I was away from them, which I think they will enjoy.

I feel very lucky that I am able to have this experience with all of you and I look forward to getting to know you all in a week.

See you all soon,

Kristin

P.S. I just want to also say thank you to my family and friends that donated, your generosity was outstanding!

