So we are finally here!! YAY!! I can’t tell you how excited and happy I am to finally be in New Orleans. Since the first day I have been blown away by the information I’ve been learning and the things I have been seeing and hearing about. Going out on the Katrina tour Tanya took us on our first day was just so unbelievable, I think that after doing all the readings and watching all the films we can understand but it is so so different when we are seeing right in front of us. Seeing the empty lots of land where houses once were and they were there, one after the other it blew my mind because I just kept thinking that its been 6 years. But it seems that slowly but surely the people of New Orleans are rebuilding and it doesn’t matter how long it takes they are going to do whatever they can to keep rebuilding.

My experiences so far have been pretty interesting, I am working with the St.Bernard Project this week and it has been so amazing learning about how they started and how determined they are to keep helping the people in St.Bernard Parish to bring people back. We have been working on a woman’s house in the parish who has been displaced since Katrina in Mississippi, she is the sole provider of her family and works extremely hard. On our first day I really felt so motivated and excited to really make a difference in this rebuilding project that I think I really tired myself out. But it was worth it, seeing the finished product at the end of the day with the 10 other girls I was working with was extremely rewarding.

Besides working with St.Bernard Project I have had the great opportunity to hang out, work with and get to know most of the people in this course with me, and I have to say I am really excited about spending the next week and a half with everyone. We are slowly starting to mesh together well and get to know one another and that was something I was worried about because everyone must feel out of their element. But I have gotten the chance to really get to know most of the girls, especially the 10 other girls that I am sharing our dorm room with, its been great a little loud and creaky ( we need WD40) but great.

I am really excited to work with The New Orleans Mission next week and getting to get out in New Orleans and explore. The one thing I really want to do is go to a few restaurants and eat! LOL I really want to try some different food, especially beignets!! I hear they are delish. I will be sure to include an awesome food review next week.

Judy

