So now that I’ve finally arrived in New Orleans, I can definitely say that this experience has gotten off to a great start! Despite running on not much sleep the first couple of days down here, I’m well rested as of the last few days and am beginning to obtain a lot of valuable and important information about how the people of New Orleans have adapted and moved on in their lives in the post-Katrina era.

Touring throughout the St. Bernard Parrish, as well as, the City of New Orleans, has allowed me to both experience the culture & witness the impacts of Hurricane Katrina. While the readings in class educated me a lot about what happened in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, witnessing the impacts first hand has really allowed me to understand how tragic and awful this natural disaster was.

I find that I’m learning a great deal of information from the people that I am speaking to, such as employees at the Animal Shelter and the Food Co-op. Much of the information that they are passing on to me includes how there are many stray animals in the community, and how many local residents are not getting enough nutrition in their eating habits. It definitely made me feel sad & upset to hear this, yet hearing about how these local businesses are doing their part in helping both the people and wildlife in New Orleans makes me feel glad to know that the city is making a steady recovery in the post Katrina era.

As my time down here in the Big Easy continues, I can say that I am definitely looking forward to waking up everyday and participating in work/activities that will allow me to gain a better understanding of how the city has been and still continues to struggle in the post Katrina era. While the work may be challenging at times, I feel a sense of accomplishment when we work together and help to make a difference in many people’s lives.

While this life experience may seem like its going fast, I know that were just getting started on creating some special times & memories! Peace Y’all!

Noah

