Ahhhhhhhhhhh, it’s almost time to venture out of what I’ve known for so many years into a completely different enviornment and country. The anticipation is overwhelming and I can’t wait for the trip to begin. To me a “trip” only in a sense that I am leaving and going to a new place, other than that this “trip” is more of a mission for me. That mission is to give 110% ( Sorry for the cliche, couldn’t think of anything else :P) regardless of what I am doing in New Orleans. Having seen so many new articles, documentaries and movies on the impact of Hurricane Katrina and the BP oil spill has had on the state of lousiana, makes me that much more determined to put in effort because in the end I know that no matter how much sweat and pain I experience from volunteering in New Orleans pales in comparison to all the sweat, blood and tears that the people of the state and the city of New Orleans have had to go through.

I know if I were to see my motivation decrease in New Orleans, just thinking about all the expereinces that the individuals around me had to endure for so many years will instantly give me that push to continue working to the best of my abilities. We take so many things for granted in life and we rarely think about others who may not have the same quality of life we have due to many reasons and for those who do, often there lacks a sense of urgency and action. That’s why I know that delaying my graduation for this once in a life time experience if one of the best choices that I have made and this trip hasn’t even begun yet. I know that once I get there I will be surounded by people who share this same mission and the goals that come along with it.

This quote by Henry Ford is something I will live by during this trip

Coming together is a beginning. Keeping together is progress. Working together is success.

Remo Shen

