“The desire of knowledge, like the thirst for riches, increases ever with the acquisition of it”      -Lauence Sterne

As I re-read the readings for this class, follow what I can on the news and find books on New Orleans, I can’t get enough. No other topic has pulled me in as strong and tugged at my emotions this way. However, the more I discover, the harder it becomes to cram  it all in and understand how all of these things have played out the way they have. With the extent of the destruction, the widespread acknowledgement of what took place,  and endless tales of communities coming together, there seems to be no reason why New Orleans didn’t recover shortly after the storm, except for the fact that the government seemingly didn’t care. I have always been suspicous of the way the government seems to be the rope in a tug of war competiton between corporations and the public; with corporations  winning again and again because they have better control over the rope, but the government always tries to play this smooth and say it’s acting in the best interests of the people, even though it may not seem that way.

Time and again though the unthinking majority buys this and life goes on…(for some, if you are lucky). But with Katrina…COME ON! How thick did they have to make the wool to put in front of their eyes to hide the fact that some seriously wrong shit went down in New Orleans and it is STILL not being fixed. I will end my ranting for now before it gets out of hand…but I hope once I have experienced some of what I read first hand and/or talk to the people that wrote about these things, I will be able to think of ways to funnel this information into more productive ways for this class, my Senior Honors Work, and what ever else I can.

“Do not wait to strike till the iron is hot; but make it hot by striking”      -William B. Sprague

