A couple of more days and Group 2 is off to New Oh-lins!  Everyone I have spoken to thus far about this trip have first and foremost mentioned to me the variety of accents that are spoken within the city.  I have been doing some informal research on New Orleans and it’s amazing to see the diversity the city holds.  I am so excited to meet new people, taste new foods and experience new things.  Now that the classroom style of learning is completed, we have the tools which enable us to go out in the real world and get a first hand look at the consequences of Katrina and the BP spill.

From Group 1’s blogs I can already tell that extent of damage is still devastating, even after these last few years.  But at the same time it fuels my passion and motivates me to do something about the situation.  Fortunately, this opportunity gives me the means to do so.  My mind is set on nothing but assisting those who want and need it – I am a volunteer and am willing to do whatever I am able to do in order for the community to move forward from these unfortunate events.  Although my contribution may be small, I am optimistic about the impact our group will have on the people who one day, I hope to call friends.

Having a Group dinner prior to the trip was a great idea, it gave us a chance to get to know one another on a more personal level and share our thoughts and feelings about the upcoming adventure.  It also helped in getting to know everybody’s names, hopefully by the time the weekend rolls around, we won’t need name tags!  I am looking forward to getting my hands dirty and rubbing elbows with a diverse group of people who share the same goal.  All packed and ready to go 🙂

– R-zoo

