WOW…It’s Thursday, May 12th and I’ve got two days until I head down to New Orleans to partake in post-relief activities. I can’t believe it has already arrived. It seems like just yesterday I was planning the ‘Mardi Gras Mix-up’ band night fundraising event to help support this volunteer experience. Time flies eh?…

Anyways, I felt it was necessary to go further into researching the New Orleans area as I have never traveled to this part of the world before. From all the reading and ‘YouTube watching’ I have done, it has made me more excited to travel down south. It has made me realize why those living there take such pride and feel no need to reside anywhere else. The area is the birth place to some of the best musical jazz artists (e.g. Louis Armstrong), a central for celebratory activities (e.g. Mardi Gras), and a home to many historical structures/monuments.

On the negative side, I’ve heard many disappointing comments from individuals who I’ve told about my future plans to travel down south to participate in post-relief work. ‘Why are you going to build for an area that is just bound to flood again?’ I did have this mentally before taking this course. However, in a CINT 912 class, we watched the documentary ‘When the Levees Broke’. Throughout the documentary there are clips of citizens of New Orleans and their disappointed reactions at how relief groups reacted to the events of Hurricane Katrina. People were trapped and not attended to for days. The emotions I felt while watching could be summed up as shocked, angry, and speechless. These clips have only motivated me more to help those in New Orleans.

Some individuals have lived in New Orleans all their life and it is all that they know. Large majority of the population cannot support a car and therefore live within a functional walking distance of all necessities. These individuals plan to stay in this area until they die!

Group 2, see you soon! 🙂

Shannon S.

