Hey this is Bryan, thought I’d get that out of the way right away since I forgot to include my name in my last blog…

Anyways, this is only my fourth day in New Orleans and WHOA the things I’ve learnt and done are so intense I truly believe no one should be able to graduate from University until they have an experience like this related to their field. It brings me back to something I’m sure I posted in an earlier blog: “Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do.” (Johann Wolfgang von Goethe). However, before I came I didn’t fully comprehend how true this would be in New Orleans. On my first day I worked with the Food Co-op trying to set up a new grocery store since the lower ninth ward only has one proper grocery store at the moment and that is just scary. Then today I worked with Project Green, which is an initiative to take house scraps as recycling, sort through them and sell them very cheap to help people with rebuilding their houses. I could have sat in a class learning about these things for hours on end…but actually being here as a part of it I understand it much more than I ever could.

To sort of wrap-up…for anyone that has read my past blogs you can pick up on a sense of anger I held and blame I had for the government. Although these things are still on my mind I have forced my self to push them to the back of my head and will persue them more when I get back home. Many people here don’t seem to be interested in assigning blame, but on how to come together in the face of tragedy and work as a community. I’m not very religious, but listening to Pastor Randy talk about Addulah Fellowship Church coming together and everything they did for the community I truly believe it was a miracle. If he thinks we are heroes of Katrina for coming to help, he is  superhero and there should be movies about him, not masked people in spandex… Anyways I am done here and will be spending the next few days focusing on how communities came together to recover after Katrina rather than focusing on where the blame lies and how a similar situation can be handled different, which was more of my original goal.

Bryan McGill

