“It’s hard to believe” encompasses all my thoughts and feelings about my trip thus far. It’s hard to believe that it has already been a whole week and that we only have one week left all together. Everyday has been filled with so many different activities and experiences, that it’s sometimes hard to process what it is that I just did but I’m getting through it. From 7am when I get ready to go to either the food co-op, the green project or magnolia school to 5 when we eat and have the pleasure of listening to an amazing human being and their story about their experience with Katrina and Nola now. A different perspective I guess you could say.

It’s hard to believe that these people have the perspectives they do because of what they went through. I was saying to Pascal I am trying to imagine what it might be like to lose everything, and even as I type those words I find myself holding back tears. It is just something that I cannot imagine, and can only hope that I might never have to. But, it is also hard to believe that they are able to tell their story in the ways that they have, it doesn’t seem like it would be the easiest. At all.

It’s hard to believe that 6 years later there are still the amount of buildings or houses or storefronts that are empty, destroyed or gone. It is something that I can still not entirely wrap my head around and perhaps I never will. I’ll keep ya’ll posted. The thing that stuck out the most for me were the schools, I don’t know why. And it’s hard for me to think and talk about, but empty schools breaks my heart among everything else. Unfortunately, just another thing on the list I suppose.

I’ll close with, it’s hard to believe that I have been surrounded by such incredible people, it’s home away from home. And while we have been here for a week, I can’t believe we’ll be saying good-bye at the end of this one. We have bonded on so many different levels, perspectives have changed and at times frustration has set in. But, my dad always told me it’s never easy living with more than yourself (and it’s 20 here). So, Dad it’s been…challenging. But I have learned a lot about myself and people. Extremely beneficial for growing up.

Until next time…

Thank you to all and to all a goodnight

-Isabelle

