The weekend trip to Alabama was more than just a Civil Rights tour, it was a lesson in tolerance. As I walked across the Edmund Pettus Bridge hand in hand with Tanya I recalled what one woman had told me earlier in the day, ‘why do they hate us so much?’ she asked her mother as a young child. These words echoed in my head as I walked over the bridge, but the words seemed to get heavier and louder as we approached the bottom of the bridge where the marchers were confronted by policemen armed with rubber whips strewn with barbed wire, tear gas, cattle prods and bullets. The irony of the situation was that while I couldn’t comprehend how someone could hate another so much based on the colour of their skin, yet I was somewhat judgemental of the person I was holding hands with because of the color of her hair. I do not like to admit this especially to a public audience but I have often found myself being judgemental of others whether it be for their beliefs or decisions they make, because I think I know better (which I do not). At that moment walking across the bridge I was forced to confront my own beliefs, which to my surprise were not as liberal as I had thought. After walking across that bridge I pledged to myself that I would try my hardest never judge another person and to look at people and situation more subjectively.

