So there are only three nights left. As I sit here writing this blog during an amazing thunderstorm, i’m reflecting on everything that has happened over the past two weeks and I am lost for words. But for the sake of completing this assignment I will find as many as I can to explain everything it is that I am feeling, while it might be tough I am up for the challenge.

I started my week at the St. Bernard Project and I had one of the most incredible experiences that I can honestly say I will never forget. We had the chance of meeting our home owner- Mr. Robert Christie. An 89 year old man who is going through his second rebuild and truly just wants to go home, something that was so evident in his eyes, words and spirit. He had an amazing story that was so inspiring and motivating to all of us i’m sure, a true hero in my eyes and to you Mr. Christie  I will never forget you.

The other thing that really stood out for me this week were the conversations I had with everyone in this group. You  are all amazing and I am never going to forget any of you. I think it’s remarkable that while we are all so different in so many ways we are having very similar thoughts and feelings surrounding our days, experiences etc. I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people to support me through this process, so thank you.

One conversation that stood out the most for me was one that I had last night when a few of us were talking about the people we have become, the friends we have and our future after this trip. I knew going into this trip that it was going to teach me things about myself, society, politics all that and more. But I never thought I would be where I am at today, and I know i’m not alone in feeling this way.

Without getting too sappy on everyone who might be reading this, I am excited about where I am at after everything that I have experienced. I have changed, and I don’t think this is a bad thing, just different I suppose. Who knows where this will take me but all I can do is wait and know that wherever it is this “new chapter” will take me it all began here in New Orleans.

Thanks ya’ll I could never have done this without you,

-Isabelle

