Well here I am… writing my blog a day or two early (just as I did last time). To be specific I am writing this on Thursday night but will publish it tomorrow. I am not really sure what to say as it has been awhile since my last post. I suppose I will begin by recapping what has been going on this week since my last post. Last weekend we had some free time so myself and a couple of others decided to check out Bourbon St. and the French Quarter on Saturday and Sunday. It was nice to take the weekend to see some of the historic city and was also a much needed break. I won’t say much about last weekend other than two things: New Orleans is beautiful and I never want to have another night on Bourbon again… although it was fun… Anyways after the break we got right back to work on Monday. This week my half of the group started with St. Bernard Project. As I am sure you have all heard by now St. Bernard Project is an NGO which focusses on primarily restoring houses which were destroyed by Katrina. It is a large organization and held in very high regard within the community. On our first day of work we found out that we would be mudding (aka plastering) St. Bernard Project’s first full build ever. We got to meet the home owner and ex Secretary of State Madeline Albright… It was a neat experience. Overall the week has involved a lot of learning how to actually do what is needed at this stage of the build… and then doing the work. It feels odd to spend all this time learning how to do what is needed just to leave when we get the hang of things. None the less we have managed to get a great deal done which feels good. The experience of this week and trip has helped me to really understand how much work is needed after a disaster…. which is exactly why the government should have stepped up to the plate and taken care of the people here instead of economic interests.

Anyways I think I am done rambling now… long story short this trip has been a great experience and now I have to figure out what to do when I get home… So long and thanks for all the fish.

