Hi everyone! It was really great meeting all of you for the first time yesterday in class and I just wanted to say that I am really looking forward to getting to know all of you better. This is my very first blog that I have ever written and I really hope that I am not alone on this! So, first thing’s first, a little bit about myself. I am 20 years old and right now I am ay Ryerson majoring in sociology and minoring in psychology. I don’t exactly know what my future holds in terms of a career but with every new experience I have I get a little bit closer to figuring it out. I am taking this course because I really want to travel with a purpose of helping others. I feel like we take a lot for granted in our lives, and doing something to help others will really be rewarding for not only those we help but also for ourselves. I’ve never travelled for more than a week, and certainly not with 23 other people, so I am looking forward to travelling on a bigger scale and having that feeling of culture shock when i get back home. I hope to learn how the people of New Orleans feel about how they’re lives have changed and whether or not they are at peace with how things have turned out post-Katrina. Again, I am very excited about this journey and I can’t wait to go through this which each and every one of you!

Jesse

 

