Sarah says.....

Hey There, I’m Sarah…..
Currently I am in my fourth year of the Food and Nutrition program with a minor in Family Support and Community Practice. Also (as if I don’t have enough to do) I am completing the Food Security certificate.
The memoires that I have of my first trip to New Orleans are great food, majestic southern architecture and the constant sound of music, day and night, all night.
I love to travel and have been fortunate enough to have seen much of the world, but New Orleans is special. My heart broke when I saw the devistation of Katrina and the lack of support offered by the government.
To tell you a bit about myself..I returned to university after a 22 year career with British Airways. My current career goal is to become a Registered Dietitian working in community health. I have also spent time working in the area of Food Security in Toronto and in Australia.
I have two wonderful sons, 18 and 20 years old. It is a bit odd to be at university at the same time as my eldest child. My oldest son is living away and my young son is still at home with me. After too many years as a single mother, love came my way again a few years ago. I have a wonderful, supportive partner and life is very full now.
I am preparing myself for the emotions I know will swell up inside when in New Orleans. I have found in the past that stepping out of my own world and into someone elses has always allowed me to see my life in a more objective way.
I am excited at the prospect of forming new friendships and learning new skills. Looking ahead to the adventure.
Sx

