Hello NOLA Blogosphere!
     My name is Abigail Krogman. I am currently in my third year at Ryerson University in the program Arts & Contemporary Studies majoring in Diversity & Equity Studies and minoring in Non-Profit Voluntary Sector Management. My passion is human rights, and equality. Hopefully once I graduate I can get the privilege to work with an NGO that shares my heart. My big endeavours are to someday open a safe house for young girls and women who have escaped from the Sex Trafficking industry – I saw a woman, from Thailand, speak about child sex workers when I was fourteen that changed my life. My family has been a foster family for over eleven years, seven years ago they become a therapeutic treatment foster home that takes in children with behavioral and special needs. The experience of opening up our home, opening my heart and being an older sister to these children has taught me so much, and is the main reason for my love of advocating for equality.
     In the Fall 2011 semester I enrolled and took the course INT908 Homelessness in Canadian Society with Pascal Murphy. This course truly opened my eyes and changed my perspective on homelessness and people experiencing homelessness. It was one of the best classes I have taken in my time at Ryerson and recommend it to everyone! When the chance came to apply for travel to New Orleans and do post-Katrina recovery work I was very excited, and am still even more excited now that I am going! Being able to witness first hand the aftermath of what Katrina has done to the communities of New Orleans, and being able to play apart in the redevelopment is so humbling.

I cannot wait to embark on this adventure with some amazing people!

               Abigail Krogman (:Image

