Hello to all the readers!

My name is Nisha Thomas and I am a third year Social Work student at Ryerson University. This is my first time ever writing a blog so hopefully this turns out okay! I am so excited to be going to New Orleans! Having never been away from home for more than 5 days, I already know this is going to be a very liberating (and maybe a little bit scary) experience!!

I had heard about this course and the NOLA trip last year when a couple of my friends had been accepted. Ever since then, I have always wanted to do this. In my first year, I had learned that Hurricane Katrina was not simply just the “natural disaster” that I had perceived it to be. After attending class this past weekend, the knowledge I learned from just those few hours is incredible! Once, I learn (and sometimes un-learn) something, I simply cannot ignore it! Nothing will be able to compare to the actual experience of being there though. I am more than ready to witness, experience and live the New Orleans culture. Not just the culture, but gain a first hand understanding of the lived realities of individuals affected. I can already feel it, my life is about to change.

This is all becoming so much more of a reality as I booked my plane ticket yesterday! Thank you Pascal and Tanya for this opportunity!! I can’t wait to share it with everyone!!

P.S. – In regards to the photo, I work at a portrait studio part-time! I have somewhat made it my goal to take “a holiday photo” as often as I can (or as often as holidays come) …and get my personal/political agenda out there. It may be dorky, but even if people just think about it for a minute, you never know what it could do!

Image

