Hi ya’ll! My name is Melanie, and I am studying Social Work at Ryerson.

I come from a family of philanthropists, and have been involved in the ‘helping field’ from a young age. I was born and raised in British Columbia, and helped my parents run a dinner cafe for youth experiencing homelessness in downtown Vancouver. I also accompanied them to a small island in the Caribbean called Dominica, where we lived for three months and were involved with community development. These experiences, and others like them, have created awareness and perspective that I hold in great value.

Like many of my classmates, I am also passionate about travelling! I love experiencing new things, seeing new sights, and living every moment! I feel so blessed to be involved in our trip to NOLA. I have such an empathetic heart for the Katrina survivors, and am excited to meet and listen to their stories of resilience and adaptation. Oh, and then you throw in…homestyle southern cookin’…Wetlands…Plantations…JAZZ FEST…Vibrant culture and history…The freakin’ Mississippi…AND,  New Orleans is also home to fitness guru Richard Simmons! How can you go wrong? Looking forward to sharing this adventure with you all!   

Bring on the gumbo!

