As April.28th moves closer and closer the more excited I am getting about embarking on this amazing journey to New Orleans. I am beginning to form relationships with some of the people I am traveling to Nola with and it is amazing how much some of us have in common with other another, be it music tastes, or even our favorite breakfast foods. I am blessed to be getting to know these people I am traveling with and I am hoping to make some lifelong friends from this experience that we are sharing with one another.

I have also been collecting things to bring with me. I went to CAA and got every book they have on New Orleans and I also got a book about New Orleans for Christmas which I am totally bringing it has a map and tells me where to shop, eat and where to go see amazing things which excites me.

Although I am getting pumped about traveling to Nola and seeing the amazing landscape I am more interested in getting to know the residents of New Orleans. I have been doing a lot of reading on Katrina and I am developing a lot of feelings about the people who suffered its wrath, people I haven’ t even met yet. I have developed strong feelings of strength for them and they have truly shown me the understanding of courage and determination. It is impossible for me to understand exactly what they felt and experienced by readings and videos so I am looking forward to hearing their stories and getting to know these people personally. I am so inspired by them already and I can’t wait to meet the residents of New Orleans and get to know them on a more personal level.

Overall I can’t express how blessed I feel to be a part of this experience and I am looking forward to this journey!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Amanda Leathen

