Hi ya’ll

This past weekend a few of us had the opportunity to travel to Alabama to learn more about the civil rights movement.

We all know the importance of civil rights history, we learn about it all through our schooling, therefore it is important!  Alabama was where much of the Civil Rights Movement begun. It is where Martin Luther King Jr. began his campaigns, where Rosa Parks sparked the Bus Boycott, and is where the Selma to Montgomery March took place. With all these historical events that took place here, it is no wonder that they have so many Civil Rights tours, museums, and memorials.

We had the opportunity to visit the Civil Rights Memorial Center; as well in Selma we took part in walking across the Edmund Pettus Bridge to commemorate those who fought to enforce their voting rights. I couldn’t even put into words the emotions that were running through my body. I felt as if I was connecting with the individuals who risked their lives to stand for human rights. I was overcome with a multitude of feelings as we walked across. I had flash backs to the videos we had watched earlier in the day about the civil rights movement and the raw and brutal images that were shown. I was lost for words.

I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to take part in something like this and is something I will never forget!

On a lighter note I went to Jazz Fest this weekend and had an enjoyable time. From the food to the culture, to the music it was ahhmazing!

JM

