Alright, I confess. I was supposed to write my blog yesterday but I didn’t.
I am not blaming the fact that we don’t have access to internet at City of Hope,
I am taking all the blame because yesterday, after dinner, a bunch of us strolled
down French Quarter and Bourbon Street. I have to say that even if there is a
penalty of a late blog, I will take it because we had an amazing time.

Prior to that, I had a great day working with the St Bernard Project. My group
is currently putting final touches to a home. The home is still for sale, but
throughout the day, there were four people that came to look at the home.
When we first arrived on the site, we were greated by three long time
volunteers with the St Bernard project. I was paired with Joy and our main task
was to do shoe stops. I know I have the name wrong, but that’s all I know of
what to call it. I, myself has had experience with electric saws but was a little
nervous because this wasn’t my home, my dad wasn’t there to take the leadership
role and I really didn’t want to mess something up or even get yelled at. Joy and
I sucked it up and nervously performed the task and I must say, it was a success.
We were very proud. Our team leader said that he trusted us and that if we felt
uncomfortable, we didn’t have to do it, but we did and it felt great. Up to now,
we’ve covered most of the house, only two rooms left. YAY.

I am grateful that we have a good relationship with everyone we work with.
It makes for a great working environment and the fact that we know that we
are here for a great purpose, makes it even more rewarding. It’s amazing to see
how dedicated everyone is to this home. As far as processing this trip, it’s difficult
for me to express what I am feeling into words. Sometimes, I find myself lost in
my thoughts because I still cannot believe what I see while driving to our job
sites or sightseeing. For me, it takes a bit of time to actually process and my way
of doing this is to just observe and see. It may take a while for me to be able
to say what I have to say but I know that it will always be fresh in my mind.
There’s saying that I stumbled upon at home before coming on this trip, and I
apologize because I don’t know where it comes from but it for me, it’s the
perfect quote for this journey. “He who lives sees, he who travels sees more”.
We hear about things, we see it on news channels, but to be here, and to see
it in front of you is a whole different experience.

